Sunday, 22nd April 2012

Our second Sunday morning being a football family while Nicholai played. I suspect it’s going to become a habit. It wasn’t too bad today, it did rain for a while when we first got there but after that the sun came out and it was quite warm and pleasant. Nicholai’s team also won, by quite a lot, so he came home happy too.

Although when it was time to go we discovered that our car battery had gone flat again! So we had to call the RACV to give us a jump start. I think we need a new battery since this happened on the holidays as well, and today we really shouldn’t have drained the battery just from having the car doors open for a while.

This afternoon was the usual weekend routine. I say that like it’s boring, but it’s quite pleasant in a homey and familiar sort of way. The kids play on the Wii and computer, I play on my computer, Troy and Soren do whatever…at least until the time comes to tell them to get off the electronics it’s all quite peaceful.

Although today we had to wall mount the new dryer which we managed quite successfully, so that was something a bit more productive. It’s bigger than the old one but it still fit in the same space and we could mount the wall bracket onto the wood that was already screwed into the wall for the old dryer, so that was good.

And talking about productivity- I started painting the kitchen. Before the movie yesterday Troy and I bought a tin of ‘china white’ to do the ceilings with, so I had no more excuses not to start. It really is going to be a long and awkward job and we’ll be doing it in a very piecemeal sort of way I think. With the kids and just general life stuff we can’t really pack up the loungeroom and kitchen and move everything out for a week, so we’re going to just have to move things from one end of the room to the other and do one or two walls at a time. The roof too, and since it’s all divided into little sections by the beams at least it’s going to be easy to do a little bit at a time. And I suppose keeping the furniture in means I can stand on the kitchen table to paint at least a bit of it, instead of having to just move the ladder every ten minutes.