Monday, 2nd April 2012.

I’m typing this sitting on my camping chair, outside the tent where the children are supposedly going to sleep (ha!) because we’re here at Lakes Entrance on our long awaited camping holiday. Finally!

We finished packing the car today and it was crazy how much stuff we had in there! Literally packed to the roof, with three kids in the middle row and Jericho in his carseat tucked away amongst the luggage. Nicholai had his Kindle to read and the other kids had movies to watch so we were hoping the drive wouldn’t be too horrid.

Troy and I just talked, and I really do love him. I mean, he let me rehash the entire issue with his mother and weep about it, then he shared my immediate excitement over taking an unscheduled stop to visit something called The Musical Village, just because we thought the name sounded so fun. He also indulged me in a serious conversation about how much housework vampires would need to do, would Rosalie ever do the vacuuming at the Cullens’, and surely Emmett would still take the sports pages of the newspaper and sit on the toilet to read them even though he doesn’t need to go to the toilet, but he’s just that type of person. Plus, as I’ve sat here typing up my journal and playing Bejeweled he’s worked out how to turn my phone into a wireless hotspot so I can upload my journal from right here!

Our unplanned visit to the Musical Village was so much fun. Surprisingly so, I have to admit! We followed the signs and found it was a music museum so we thought we may as well go in and check it out since we were there, although none of us play music and we honestly weren’t expecting anything amazing. It was so interesting though! It was much bigger than it appeared, they had a main room, a church and then an entire four room cottage full of antique instruments. Mainly pianos and organs of different types, but also other things. We were given a tour by an old man who knew everything and could make it sound interesting, and could play everything, so our tour also included a lot of music. The kids banged on the instruments they were allowed to touch (which were quite a lot of them, it was good) and danced to all the instruments the man played for us, and had a grand old time. They fix and tune and restore pianos there too, so we got to see their workshop as well. It was just a gem of an outing, where we’d never heard of it and felt like we’d really discovered something amazing.

Once we got here we had to put up our tent, which was an interesting experience. It’s been four years since we’ve done it, and we certainly weren’t any experts then either. However we got it up at last and thankfully nothing has happened to it in its four years wrapped in plastic in the shed, so it’s quite a cosy little home. The kids are kind of adorably excited about it. Well, it’s adorable that they’re so happy to be here, but their loudness about it is much less adorable!

I’m so happy to be here. I’m happy to be away, and doing something different. I’m trying to let all the minor little aggravations go and just enjoy the moment, which doesn’t always come naturally to me I admit. So far it’s been really, really lovely though.