Thursday, 12th April 2012

I’m watching ‘The Other Boleyn Girl’ on tv tonight. I went and saw this at the movies with some friends, and I still remember as walked out one of them looked completely shell shocked and couldn’t believe that Anne Boleyn had been killed.

Today has been okay. Troy went in to work early to do computer updates and was already gone when Soren crawled into bed beside me at quarter past six. He certainly woke me up when he clutched me with icy little hands and put his frozen little feet on me and announced, “Oh, you’re so cosy Mommy!” It still makes me laugh the way he calls me Mommy, the little American.

We didn’t do much. I’d had vague thoughts of taking them somewhere, but it didn’t happen. The three older ones are enjoying all their free time I think, not having school and homework to do first, but I don’t think Soren is enjoying having them at home all the time. He does love having them to play with, but it means there’s not much downtime for him and I think he’s getting a bit overwrought with it. He’s also still getting over the cold he caught while we were away last week and I think that’s dragged him down a bit.

Tomorrow he’s going to go to crèche. Emma and Nicholai are going with Jean, and Troy and I are taking Jericho to have his hearing retested and an appointment with an ENT. He’s well overdue for this recheck, but I hope it all turns out to be unnecessary and his hearing is okay.

I’ve started doing some fiction writing in the past couple of days. Nothing important, just sketching out some scenes and characters. It’s so hard. How did this once come so easily to me? I still remember writing every day during my VCE and having my stories read in instalments over at the boarding house. When they asked me how I found the time I couldn’t even answer- how did they not have time? I didn’t really understand what people who didn’t write thought about all the time. And now…my brain feels rusty and dusty and the words need to be searched for, but I’m trying. I don’t know if anything will come of it now, I suspect with the children constantly at home I don’t have the space I need to think things out and feel them strongly enough to write them, but I guess I’ll see.