Saturday, 14th April 2012

I told Soren he had to take his own cup to the kitchen this morning. He disagreed loudly, then when I insisted he gave me a glare and tried to flounce away. He walked in to a wall. He slays me, he really does. Fortunately his dignity was hurt more than his head was.

We went to the zoo today. It was the most crowded I’ve ever seen it which wasn’t great, but it was a beautiful day and it was still the zoo so we had fun anyway. I was very glad we are Friends of the Zoo because we got to go in the members line and walk right in, rather than joining the queue snaking back to the carpark.

I didn’t get too many good photos. Partly because of the crowds- we just had to squeeze in wherever we could at the enclosures so I couldn’t position myself well- and also because the warm sun meant most of the animals were just lazing about in the sun. I still took a few though.

We also bought three more of the wide brimmed zoo hats for the kids, since Soren has really outgrown his toddler hat and the two zoo hats we bought another time have been so good. It’s surprisingly hard to buy wide brimmed hats for kids, there are loads of caps and bucket hats available but they don’t have the same sun protection, so we thought we’d grab these ones while we could. I’m sometimes a tad obsessive about the children wearing hats, but I figure they have enough genetic health problems coming their way without adding to their odds of things like skin cancer.

Nicholai has gone to the football with Steve and Jean tonight. He’s been so worked up about it, it’s both odd and very frustrating to deal with. I think a big part of it is that tomorrow morning is his first football game and so his nervousness and hysteria over that is just being transferred to other things. I’m hoping that his first game goes well and he will settle down about the whole thing, or else we’re in for a very long and angst ridden season.