Tuesday 14 October 2014

The dentist appointment today went better than I had expected. Six of us in a row and only Troy needed a little filling. I felt a bit sorry for the dentist actually, just doing all those appointments without a break, but it’s much easier for us to just go and get it all over and done with.

The kids were not too bad. Nicholai and Soren are not brushing very well- they didn’t have any cavities but they’ve got to improve their technique. Jericho’s teeth were okay, no issues- could be cleaner but not too bad. Emma’s brushing is reasonably good, although she is very hampered by her crooked teeth which mean she’s got to go at her mouth with the toothbrush in a million different angles. The dentist talked to her about that and showed all of them (again) how to brush properly and floss. My teeth were not too bad, my biggest issue is still the dry mouth caused by all my psych medication and there’s nothing I can do about that.

The dentist certainly filled up the morning, anyway. Our first appointment was at nine, all the kids went in one by one and then I had my turn. After she’d checked Troy’s teeth and decided to do a filling the dentist came out and told me, so I left and drove all the kids to school then came back to pick up Troy.

While it was still a very expensive morning, the children are actually eligible for a Medicare dental rebate, which Troy and I were able to collect from the Medicare office across the road from the dental place immediately after we were done. This was SO good. I’ve always thought that basic dentistry should be part of basic healthcare, so while this only covers the children it’s at least a nice start.

Although what isn’t covered by this Medicare rebate is orthodontia, and we got a referral for Emma today. We have seen an orthodontist previously but apparently he’s retired (you’d think we would have got a letter about this) so we’ll have to see someone else. I guess after that we’ll be starting a nice long and expensive foray into the exotic world of orthodontic work.

She did say that in her opinion Nicholai probably won’t need any work like that though, which was a big relief. Previously they’ve thought he might, but she said today that she thinks it will be fine. His teeth might not be supermodel perfect, but I’m not worrying about it.