Wednesday 1st October 2014

Okay, I think I’m ready for school holidays to be over now! The kids were going nuts today. Emma, Soren and Jericho were playing together and having a great time, but there was an element of out of control hysteria about it all.

Nicholai is just starting to get anxious over things. He needs school to give his mind something to focus on, rather than spiralling off into angst. He’s starting to spend more time rocking from foot to foot and telling me things than he was, and today he kept telling me repeatedly that he was nervous about cricket, which starts on Saturday. He’s nervous about his own skills, and he’s nervous that they won’t have enough players since apparently several people from his team last summer have changed clubs this year. I’m sure it will all work out, but he’ll probably be stressed about it until it’s over.

Soren lost his second tooth today, so the tooth fairy is paying another visit tonight! It was the one at the bottom in front, beside the other tooth that fell out, so he’s got a double gap there now. The two adult teeth can be seen though, so they won’t take long to come in.

I must make dental appointments and orthodontist appointments. Ugh, that’s not something I’m looking forward to.

The kids and I all watched Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire this morning. I really love it when we all watch a movie together- I think it just felt like such a long time getting to this point! And it’s still not always the case of course, in fact it’s still only an occasional thing, but it’s something I really like. There’s just something kind of cosy and friendly about watching a movie together.

I also spoke to the psychologist from EACH this morning. Hopefully this one is here to stay! We talked about Emma and what’s been going on, and what we’d like her to get out of sessions with the psychologist.

I also mentioned that she might end up with Jericho too, since his teacher wants to refer him, so we talked a lot about his issues too. I think she’d be good for him, and I actually think it would be really good to have the same person dealing with both of the children. Their issues are individual, but you can’t get away from the family influence and impact. If the same person deals with both of them and talks with me, I think she’d develop a much deeper understanding of where they’re coming from and it would probably be easier to create effective strategies to help them.

We talked for a long time. She said I sounded like an impressively insightful and caring mother. Perhaps all my angst and navel gazing about the children and their issues actually counts for something in the end?

Although, talk about feeling like a drama queen! I really feel ridiculous when I start going into the history of all that has influenced the children during their lives- the bipolar, the depression, Nicholai’s Aspergers, family history of mental illness, moving, Black Saturday, Jericho’s appendix etc etc etc. It feels like every second sentence I’m saying “Oh, and then there’s this…”

I got a lot of writing done. Jericho was sitting beside me tonight while I was doing some, and he looked at me and said really admiring, “That’s some really mad typing.” Although then he frowned at me and said primly, “I wish you’d stop it because it’s very distracting when I’m trying to read.”