Thursday 2nd July 2015

Once again I was thwarted in my desire to taste a Minion McFlurry! I stopped at a Maccas on the way home from mum and dad’s house, but that one had no banana pieces and so once again I was disappointed. I am beginning to suspect that this thing will not be worth the drama once I actually do get to taste one, but now I am determined.

We left Hamilton at 10.30 this morning. We got fifteen minutes down the road and Mum called to say that I’d left the pile of kids’ clean clothes, so we turned around and went back. We left Hamilton for a second time at 11.

It was a reasonable drive back. We stopped for lunch, and we had the ill-fated McFlurry stop, and we reached the office about 3.30. We went in and said hi to the office people, and then Troy came home with us. I was tired and cold then, so after all the bags were unpacked I had a long, hot bath, which was lovely.

The kids grumbled about unpacking their bags but did it quickly so that they could sort through the yu-gih-oh cards that they bought on ebay and that were delivered while we were away. This is a relatively new thing for them- Jericho’s friend Oscar gave him some cards and he and Emma have learned to play the game, and have been really enjoying it. So I checked out ebay and the three younger kids pooled their money and bought a whole pile of cards.

I had a good time away. We went to the movies and the Halls Gap Zoo and saw Lee and Rhiannon and the families, so it was good. The kids had fun too, and having a few days away always nicely fills in a bit of the holidays for them (and me). Only a week and a bit to go now!