Tuesday 1 August 2017

Jericho can be funny sometimes. He’s stopped wearing long sleeved t-shirts, no matter what the temperature (and it’s bloody cold here!) he wears his short sleeved shirts. He’ll throw a jacket on, but he really doesn’t seem to feel the cold at the moment. When we were walking to school the other morning most of the kids in the playground were wearing shorts, and I asked Jericho if he was going to start wearing shorts in winter too. He gave me a look of disgust and declared, “I don’t want to freeze!” Just rather at odds with his insistence on wearing only short sleeved t-shirts and unzipped/unbuttoned jackets over the top!

Jericho’s actual teacher is there this week, after taking a couple of weeks away due to a family death, so Jericho is having to readjust to that. He said this teacher is strict and he doesn’t seem all that impressed, but hopefully he settles in to it.

I walked the kids to school, kept walking for a while, did the grocery shopping, laundry, cleaned up, knitted, computer time, walked the kids home from school, cleaned up, registered the pets to the council here, made tea, said goodnight, and am now watching The Block. It’s all very uninspiring though, to be honest. I don’t know, I’m not depressed, but I do feel like I’m in a bit of a slump. Just feeling tired and kind of blah. I think it’s probably just a reaction to living in a state of stress for so long with moving, and now we’re here and I can relax I’ve just crumpled a little bit.

Troy’s off to the office tomorrow, so it will be just the kids and I. I’m considering going and walking around the lake, but I’m also considering lying on the couch watching tv and being alone in my house! I will also have to think of something for tea that the kids all like- I can cook for them without Troy around, but I don’t think I can face their grief over food that is not their favourite without some backup!