Monday 31 July 2017

I baked a cake in our oven today, the first one since we’ve moved. It was definitely a bit crispier on the outside than cakes usually are, but since we all ate a warm piece with whipped cream for after-school snack this was actually really good. It might be a bit too dry by the time it’s in lunchboxes for recess tomorrow though- I guess we’ll wait and see.

I really feel that I need to do more cooking. Basically I take any chance to NOT cook, and that’s really not great. I need to get better about cooking a variety of dinners, and also go back to baking for school snacks rather than just buying all the time. It’s not my favourite thing to do, but I need to watch our money here and I don’t have a job- I need to do SOMETHING to contribute.

I tried to make Emma an orthodontist appointment today, which was not as simple as I had expected. The first place I called weren’t taking on any new patients, because their orthodontist was leaving. The second place wanted to know what kind of braces Emma had – I didn’t even know there were different types apart from invisalign and the regular metal kind that Emma has. So I had to call her old orthodontist to find out what she has (and just so that I have the info, she has innovation brackets which are a GAC product and a 022 slot, so whatever all that means) and then call the new orthodontist back. But they don’t use that kind, so although they offered to make an appointment and take a look, they might have to replace her hardware. This would be expensive and would be the absolute last resort, so I said I’d keep looking. The third place I called listed braces as one of their services on the website, but when I tried to make an appointment they said that they didn’t do it and I would need an orthodontist. The fourth place I called were happy to make an appointment, but they didn’t ask what kind of braces she had so we may discover that they’re not suitable either. Their closest available appointment was also three weeks away, but I thought I’d just take it and cross my fingers that it all works out.

I walked again this morning, which was good. Walking and cooking, that’s what I want to make myself do over the next couple of months. According to google maps it is 1.3km from our house to the primary school, so that’s 5.2km a day just walking to and from school. It’s pretty easy to just keep walking after I drop the boys at school.

Although after I came home from picking the kids up this afternoon I had the worst nosebleed. Half a box of tissues later I had blood on my computer and on my glasses…I don’t even know how that happened.

The kids were all a bit out of sorts today. No one really wanted to go to school, and they were a bit cranky when they got home too. There was no real reason for it, just one of those things. However they enjoyed their cake and cream for after school snack, and then Jericho and Soren jumped on the trampoline for a while and seemed a lot more cheerful by tea time. Hopefully they’ll sleep well and be ready to go tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

