Friday 21 July 2017

The trampoline was delivered today, and is now half constructed in the backyard. It came in seven boxes and everything weighed a ton. Putting it together was something of a challenge, but Troy and I are pretty good at working together on these things now and we figured it out. The only reason we didn’t finish was because it got too dark to see what we were doing- black springs, black mat, black poles and black netting don’t really make it easy to work into the night.

We woke up to a truly Ballarat winter morning, with a super heavy frost making everything look icy and pretty. The dog didn’t seem to enjoy it under her paws when we walked to school, but the boys had fun crunching through it. It wasn’t just frost on the grass though, there was a lot of slippery ice on the concrete too- at one point when I was walking home, Luna was trotting ahead of me and without warning her feet just whooshed out from underneath her as she slipped on an icy driveway. It was actually hilariously funny, but also gave me just enough warning that when I slipped on the same bit of ice a second later I was prepared.

The kids were all tired and some of them were pretty cranky by the end of school today, but I think their first week in their new schools has been a reasonable success. Jericho in particular seems to have found himself a little circle of friends already, which is absolutely the best thing that could have happened for him. Soren has been a little quieter and more reserved about everything, but he doesn’t seem unhappy- I think he’s just taking his time. He is friends with the girl that he did some drawing with on his first day (she also sits at his table in the classroom) and she has invited him to her birthday party, so that’s something nice for him.

I started knitting a dog sweater last night. I’m starting with the neck this time, and I’m going to do as much of it as possible in the round. I don’t have a pattern so I think it’s going to involve a lot of trying it on the dog as I go along- hope she cooperates with that.

IMG_3363

Icy walk to school

Leave a Reply

