Monday 5 June 2017

I want Nicholai to come home from Germany. Terrorist attacks and my bear on the other side of the world are not the easiest things to think about.

I painted the kitchen wall today. It would have been much better if I had sanded it before I did it, but I didn’t realise until I’d done the first coat how rough the wall really was. And there was no way I was going to do it then.

I wore my wrist and elbow wraps while I did it, which helped in terms of pain, but it has made me realise that painting my new house is going to be a very long and arduous process. I still want to do it – choosing the paint colour of a house always makes it feel more like yours – but given the fact that I can only do it for a little while at a time and will have to use a paintbrush because I can’t use a roller, it’s going to take an exceedingly long time. Oh well, I’ll just have to think of it as a long term project and I’ll surely appreciate it once it’s all done.

I worked on packing Nicholai’s room today. It feels a bit odd to be packing it up while he’s not here, like I’m invading his privacy a bit, but I did tell him before he left that I might do it. And really, given the option of me packing his room or him having to do it himself, I think I know what he would choose!

I’m going to need more book boxes though. I’ve packed up the library, but there are clearly far more books in the children’s rooms than I thought.

Troy has hockey tonight. It’s freezing cold AND it’s raining, so better him than me.

Leave a Reply

