Friday 17th February 2017

I have had no internet all day, which is always an infuriating state of affairs. There is no explanation for this either- we simply have no internet access on any of the computers and tablets in our home. I’m using my phone as a hotspot to access it now, but it’s still frustrating.

It did have a bit of a silver lining in the fact that I spent most of my waking hours watching Roseanne and crocheting, since I couldn’t mess about on the internet. I’ve got half the fin made for the mermaid tail blanket, and it’s pretty! Although I have to say, while I love making things for other people and giving them away, it always adds a little extra panicked second guessing on my part as I make it- is the right colours? The right size? The right wool? Do they even want it anyway?

I did sleep a little bit though. I’ve never been as tired in my life as I was when I got home on Wednesday, and I’m still trying to get over it.

It’s been good to be back home with my family. The little boys are glad to have me back, loved their gifts, have enjoyed looking at my photos and were incredibly impressed with the new pokemon I caught/ evolved in Indonesia. Nicholai seems a little morose though- not because of me coming home (I hope, anyway), but I think the start of school this year has not been enjoyable for him. Emma stayed home from school yesterday to rest and recover, but went today and was happy with how things went when she came home this afternoon.

Troy is happy I’m home, and I’m so glad to be back with him. I keep thinking about how amazing he is. I mean, I left for two weeks, he paid for it all and did everything he could to help me with it, he stayed home and worked and looked after the boys and didn’t act like it was any big deal. He is truly the most unselfish and supportive person I have ever known.

I went in to school with Jericho and Soren yesterday morning, so they could both show me their classrooms and where they sit and what they’ve been doing. I did feel pretty bad for missing the start of the school year, but I think they forgive me.

I talked to the other teachers too, and I’m going to increase my teaching time this year. The prep/1 class and the 2/3 will still have half an hour, the grade 3/4 will have 45 minutes and I’ll do an hour with the 5/6 class. I think it will work really well having some extra time with the older kids- it will be much better for doing work like translations that need more time, and it will make doing ‘project’ type work (like the brochures and stuff we did last year) a lot easier.

I’ll also be using a different room this year, and it will be purely the Indonesian room. I’ll actually have permanent tables, ha ha ha. So it’s really rather perfect that I bought all those posters while I was over there, because now I have a room for them to decorate.

I will start teaching next week, but instead of regular classes I’m going to do two one-hour presentations on my trip, one for the seniors and one for the juniors. It will mean I’ll have more kids at a time, but it also means that they’ll get to see an hours worth of pictures instead of half, and I won’t have to repeat the same thing four times. So between now and next Thursday I have to go through nearly one and a half thousand photos and put together a collection of things that the kids will find interesting or enjoyable or funny. (Although I do realise that nothing else will compare to the hilarity of me being bitten by a monkey at the monkey forest). Actually, Jericho and Soren are being quite helpful with this, since as we’re looking at the photos together I can just make a mental note of everything that they like and go with that.

There is so much I get out of a trip to Indonesia, but I think one of the best things about this one is how much it has inspired me in regards to teaching and my own learning. I’m really determined to continue doing the good planning and units of work that I did last year, and I am also intent on reading my books and learning as much as I can as well.

One thought on “Friday 17th February 2017

Leave a Reply

