Monday 30th January 2017

I’m mostly packed and nearly ready to go. This computer/ my e-reader/ last minute toiletries/ all my medication will be packed tomorrow morning, but I’m mostly ready.

Not even really sure how I feel about it all. Excited? Nervous? Bit of both? I don’t know, I’m just really ready to get going on this big adventure!

My medication fills up a whole gallon Ziploc bag. It’s mortifying.

I went back to the doctor today, and have now added to my daily medication regime with a thyroid medication. This is permanent, since once your thyroid stops working properly it doesn’t start again. The blood test I had did show that it’s not auto-immune caused hypothyroidism though, which is good. I mean, it makes no difference to the treatment, but it’s vaguely reassuring to know that my body hasn’t turned on itself in that way yet.

Actually the thyroid medication is kind of problematic to take. It has to be taken at least half an hour before any food or not less than two hours afterward, in the morning so it doesn’t cause sleeplessness, not within two hours of any dairy products/ antacids/ oil based supplements/ other medication. Considering I eat yoghurt for breakfast every day and take an oil based vitamin D supplement alongside two kinds of medication at the same time, that doesn’t really work for me! I actually think that the only way this is going to work is if I set an alarm for 4am every day and take it then.

I’m going to miss my boys so much. I feel really badly that I won’t be here for their first two weeks of school too. I’ve never been away from them for so long before. The last time I was away from the boys for any length of time was when I went to Indonesia in 2013. I think the only time I’ve ever been away from Troy for more than a night or two was when I’ve taken the kids to Mum and Dad’s on my own, and I’ve only done that once or twice.

I am looking forward to the time with my Emmanuella though. I’m going to get to see her be brave and bold as she spreads her wings and starts to explore the big world on offer to her. I am so happy at the thought, and so intensely, unbelievably grateful to Troy for being the one who has made this possible. There are times when I hardly dare to believe that I get to be so lucky.

Leave a Reply

