Tuesday 10th January 2017

I am such a sucker for our pets sometimes. After worrying constantly about the guinea pigs every hot day, I have now gone and bought them a new cage and moved them indoors. They’re living right next to my armchair and I’m using their cage as a little table to keep all my crocheting things on. I think we’re all happy with this arrangement.

I sat down with the flight details for our trip today and added them all to our calendar so Troy and I could work out logistics. I knew that we were leaving the day the kids went back to school and I was hoping I would be able to take the boys to school in the morning, but that’s not going to work. We will actually have to leave home by 6am, so the most I’ll get to do is give them a hug and wish them good luck. Troy’s mum is happy to come over early and take the boys to school, and I think I’ll ask her to stop by the office and remind their teachers that they have just been abandoned by their mother and might need a wee bit of extra care for the next two weeks. It’s bad timing for me to be away from them during the first two weeks of the year, but at least they’ll have Troy this time.

Anyway, we will leave home about 6am on January 31st, and should be back by 4pm on February 15th. It seems so long – I’m looking forward to it, but it’s a long time to be away from my boys. I’m taking my laptop though and will be able to Skype with them, and I’ll write my journal as normal and post it when I have internet access, so it’s not like I’ll be completely out of touch. As long as I come back with gifts I think it’ll be fine!

Jericho had a friend over today. It’s great for him and I don’t mind having kids over, but we have our technology rules and so all visiting kids basically think our house sucks. It always makes me feel like a tyrant. However it is what it is, and I gave them extra time today anyway. The kid can always invite Jericho to his house next time.

I finished crocheting the Squirtle last night. He was the fiddliest one to sew together by far, since he had a head, two arms, two legs, a tail, a front shell and a back shell to crochet Both the back and belly shells were embroidered too, and then I had to embroider a mouth, nostrils and eyebrows. I also had to crochet a string of white to glue around the edge of the shell once it was all stitched together, and then do the felt eyes. He looks really cute though, and Jericho and Soren seem impressed with my skills, at least in this respect.

Leave a Reply

