Sunday 1st January 2017

Happy New Year!

I started the new year off feeling like I’d partied hard, even though I actually had one drink with Troy while we were watching The Loop music show and then was in bed by about 12.05am. I was woken up by a headache and was still so tired – I basically felt like crap all day until I had an afternoon nap and came good.

It was obviously a fairly lazy start to the year! Nicholai went to the cricket with Steve and Will and Zach, but the rest of us just hung out at home. Troy was productive and did the mowing and a bit of pruning, but I didn’t really to anything at all.

I have decided to make two resolutions for this year. I’m going to floss my teeth regularly, and keep up with the Cozi calendar app. The flossing is pretty self explanatory, and the Cozi calendar app is my attempt to be more organised. Last year (as in previous years, I have to admit, this has been a problem for a while!) I was really disorganised with all our events and what was going on in our lives. We have a calendar on the wall, but I would forget to write appointments in it and Troy would make plans from the office, and since school newsletters came electronically I would read them on my computer and never write them in at all. I thought maybe that a family calendar app on my phone might be more useful, so I looked at a few and have downloaded the Cozi one. Troy, Nicholai and Emma have all downloaded it to their phones/ ipads and all have access to it, so now we can all make appointments and include events independently wherever we are, but all can see what is happening. It has a journal function, and a list function too. Anyway, it’s got everything we need to make our lives run a little more smoothly, as long as we all just use it!

I didn’t make any resolutions for 2016. Mostly I just wanted my mental health to be stable, and to complete the requirements for full teacher registration, and I’m happy that both of those things happened.

Along with my resolutions (which have an obvious measure of success), I want to do everything I can to make this a year of positive growth. I have been focussed on simply achieving and maintaining stability, of keeping the monster of depression at bay, and I have done that. Now I think it’s maybe time for me to use that stability and build on it – I want to be brave, I want to be strong, I want to do things that make me better, not just okay.

3 thoughts on “Sunday 1st January 2017

  1. I can’t function without our kitchen calendar, but still forget to write down appointments on it on occasion!

Leave a Reply

