Thursday 15th December 2016

Luna, enjoying the sole tiny spot of sunshine in the classroom this morning.

Luna, enjoying the sole tiny spot of sunshine in the classroom this morning.

I realised today that I have gone from being the kind of person who rolled my eyes at dogs wearing clothes, to buying my dog sweaters, to knitting my dog sweaters myself, to having a variety of festive, Christmas-themed clothing for the dog to wear. I’m somewhat mortified by this. Although my mortification did disappear when the boys chose the elf outfit for Luna to wear to school today and then Angus (her best dog friend) was wearing his elf outfit at school today too and they matched. Doggy best friends both wearing elf costumes was too cute to be embarrassed by.

I wore a headband with antlers on it, which seemed like an appropriately teacher-ish thing to do. I might have to buy a Christmas t-shirt for next year. The kids are allowed to wear Christmas t-shirts or hats or whatever for this last week at school, so lots of them were doing that, which was fun.

Teaching went really well today. I gave everyone a candy cane and then let them eat them in class while we watched vidoes of modern Indonesian music – how could I go wrong? But it actually turned out much better than I had anticipated, because the grades prep to the fours all insisted on dancing, copying one of the characters in the music video. It was so funny and they all loved it. Soren’s grade all wanted to show their teacher, so once I’d finished all my classes I went up to their room and they performed it for her, and then they invited the preps and 1s from next door to come in and do with with them for their teacher too. It was far and away the best fun anyone has had in Indonesian all year.

As well as all my classes going well there was a birthday morning tea in the staffroom for me too. My birthday is so inconveniently placed that anyone doing something for it always makes me really happy, so that was great. And there was fruit flan too, which was delicious.

My principal completed her part of my application for full registration and so I’ve forwarded all that on to the VIT. Doing that made it all feel like it’s actually real. VIT will get that and then send me out a new card with my new status on it. Of course then I will have to actually work out what I need to do to keep that, in terms of PD and stuff, but that’s actually something I’m kind of interested in so I’m not concerned.

We got the little boys’ reports today, and they were excellent. I am so proud of my kids – they are really amazing and they deserve every bit of the recognition and praise they received.

Today is our wedding anniversary, and I’m going to sound all sappy and romantic, but damn…fifteen years. It’s been fifteen years, and there is nothing I regret and nothing I would change, because I married my best friend and our life together has been all kinds of wonderful. Whatever else has been hard, there has always been Troy, and the two of us together, and that has always been enough. I love what we have. For fifteen years he has been right there beside me, holding my heart with such tenderness and care that I have never felt less than loved perfectly.

We were both 23, and we look like such babies! But I feel like we've spent the last fifteen years growing up together, and now we will spend the next however many years growing old together, and I can't think of anything that I'd rather do.

We were both 23, and we look like such babies! But I feel like we’ve spent the last fifteen years growing up together, and now we will spend the next however many years growing old together, and I can’t think of anything that I’d rather do.

2 thoughts on “Thursday 15th December 2016

  1. Congratulations on applying for Full Registration! I didn’t realise what a weight it was until I’d done mine. And congratulations on 15 years of marriage – wow!

    • Thank you for both things!
      15 years of marriage just sounds so solid…honestly I was quite surprised when I realised how long it has been, it really doesn’t feel like it.
      And yeah, I am SO relieved that the whole provisional registration requirements are done. I feel like it’s been nagging at my conscience for the last five years, so it feels great to be free of that!

Leave a Reply

