Wednesday 14 December 2016

Today was the panel presentation I had to do for my full teacher registration. It was scheduled for after school, so I had all day to fret and angst about it, which was really fun, as I’m sure you can imagine. I said hi to Jericho and Soren, but they had swimming so they wished me good luck with my teacher project (they are both so sweet sometimes!) and then trotted off with Steve, while I took my papers and sense of doom to the office.

In the end though, it was fine. The three panellists (my mentor teacher Hayley, the principal, and the senior room teacher) had all read my project, so I explained my long delayed route to teaching, talked about the process of doing this project and some of the things I felt I had gained from it, they brought up a couple of points that we discussed a little further, and then they all said it was good and they were quite happy with my work and didn’t have any reason why I shouldn’t be a fully registered teacher.

I was nervous, and I’m actually kind of sick because my throat hurts like I’m swallowing knives, and I might be getting a sinus infection because it also kind of feels like someone punched me in the face, but…it’s done. Sixteen years after I started my dip.ed. I’ve finally finished the process to be a fully registered teacher.

I cried the whole way home. It was pathetic! But I had been SO stressed about it, and I was so relieved that it was done and I really felt so shabby, it was basically a mess. But a good mess.

We went to the pub to have a celebration dinner. It was pizza on their deck, and it was lovely. It also felt very fitting, because I have a very clear memory of sitting in the pub having lunch with Troy and his parents several years ago with the form for provisional registration and deciding to fill it out.

Tea out was fun, although strangely quiet without Nicholai! He left for camp this morning and won’t be home until Friday, so that makes the whole family dynamic feel so different.

Although I also have to admit, he will probably be glad that he missed After we finished our pizza we went to IGA so the kids could choose a dessert, and Em, Jericho and Soren all wanted candy canes filled with jellybeans. I said I would buy them if the children would do snappy little dances with their canes, and so while we were walking home they did. It was adorable and hilarious and I love them so much for it, but it would have mortified Nicholai beyond belief to have Emma and Jericho and Soren acting like a barbershop quartet.

It’s my wedding anniversary tomorrow, and after my appalling effort for Troy’s birthday I really want to do something nice for him. So I went shopping for a present. I had to laugh though – I looked it up online and the traditional gift for a fifteenth anniversary is crystal, with the modern gift being watches. Watches! For Troy, who has an entire china cabinet full of them, with two more being delivered every month as he continues his collection of military watches! The last thing he needs is more watches.

One thought on “Wednesday 14 December 2016

  1. Congratulations!! You should be so proud of yourself and don’t worry about crying…. that is a well deserved bawling session and I would of done the same. Have a lovely wedding anniversary, it was such an amazing day
    Love Ellen xo

Leave a Reply

