Saturday 26th November 2016

We started our Christmas season today, and it was a lovely day! We went into the city to see the Myer windows, buy an ornament there, and post letters to Santa, and then we came home and put up the tree and decorated the house.

Nicholai had cricket in the morning (which he said wasn’t very good today) so we left for the city after lunch. We’ve never been in of a weekend afternoon at Christmas before, and it was crazy crowded today. We couldn’t park in the garage we usually park in, and the line for the windows started right down in front of their nativity window. It moved pretty fast though, which was good.

The windows themselves were great this year, it was based on some book that I now can’t remember the name of, but it was about a Melbourne Christmas, with windows of Luna Park and Carols by Candlelight and a carousel and an Australian backyard. I really love the way my kids still love looking at them. Even with the level of computer generated imagery they have in the movies, tv and computer games they watch on a regular basis, they are still able to appreciate this much more old-fashioned creation.

Myer was packed, but it’s a lot easier to navigate it with older kids as opposed to preschoolers. I was outvoted on the choice of ornament, ha ha ha! I had picked a reindeer as my favourite, but I didn’t really mind when the little fox wearing a scarf won, since he looks very cute hanging on the tree.

We walked down to the Santa postbox and the kids posted their letters. I have to admit I wonder how many years we’ve got left of the kids writing letters and posting them…I really don’t know, but I’m going to drag it out as long as possible!

It was so late by the time we got home that we had to eat tea before we did the tree. Decorating was fun though – all the kids think it’s important so they are more than willing to do the work, which is good. With a six foot tree, twelve nativity sets, stockings, a wreath, an outdoor Santa with a lantern, an advent calendar, crochet snowflake mobile and a light-up reindeer to go in the fireplace it’s actually quite a lot of decorations really.

The day was just really fun. I love Christmas, I love our family traditions, and I really love my family. The kids are at such a good stage right now! I love their company and spending time together as a family, and doing something like today is really enjoyable, and a lot less stress than it used to be. It’s become such a good way to start Christmas!

Leave a Reply

