Thursday 11 October 2016

Troy was back in the city for his superannuation thing today, so he had to leave early and didn’t get back until an hour after his usual time. It’s funny really, both of us are like “this sucks” about his days in the city, since he is so close by usually, but for a lot of people this is their every day. Or they have an even longer commute. I am definitely happy that we do not have to do that.

I didn’t do too much today. I still haven’t been able to talk to Jericho’s teacher, since she was out of school yesterday and today. I guess I’ll try again tomorrow, although I honestly don’t know what I’m going to say to her. That he’s hard work and is he like that at school? Can she please tell me something I can do for him, because I’m at a complete loss?

Jericho was pretty happy today though. He had his guinea pigs inside and was reading with them on his lap when Amadeus climbed up his pyjama top onto his shoulder, and then started stretching out to reach the back of the couch. They’re such funny little animals sometimes.

Jericho and Soren have been playing with their Schleichs a lot lately. Emma actually gave them most of the cats and the other animals that she had, which surprised me. Not that she would be nice to them – she really is one of the kindest people – but she just asked on the holidays if she could get some more Little Pet Shops for her birthday, so I thought she was still into little animals. Apparently only some little animals I guess.

Her request surprised me, considering she’ll be thirteen next birthday, but I’m not in any hurry for her to grow up. She spent a big chunk of her holidays making mobile phones and laptops and cans of Pringles and lockers for her Little Pet Shop animals, and on the weekend she got Jericho to help her carry in the old dollhouse from the library. It’s one that Mum made her years ago, it’s basically a bookshelf with the shelves divided into rooms and a pitched roof on it. It’s good because it can be a dollhouse or animal house, or an actual bookshelf, which is what we’ve been using it for the past couple of years. But if Ems wants it in her room she can have it. It might even make her room neater, since she will have a dedicated place to display all her Little Pet Shop animals and the Schleichs she kept (which is mostly all of her horses, tigers, and fantasy ones).

I did some more papier mache on my puppet heads, so they should be hard enough soon. I’m going to go to Spotlight tomorrow I think, to buy some eyes for them. The puppet lady at school is all about painting the eyes on puppets, but frankly I don’t think I’d do that very well so I’ll stick to the acrylic eyes. The ones I used on the other puppets will be too big for the eye sockets of these puppets, so I need to get some smaller ones. I think I’m going to knit them both sweaters and hats, which will be fun, and then I will really have to stop making them. Because really, four puppets when I have absolutely no real interest in making up a puppet play is enough.

Leave a Reply

