Sunday 26th June 2016

It is only the first weekend of the school holidays and I am about to lose my mind or run away to live alone in the forest. Why are the children so MESSY????? God knows I am a hopeless, lazy housekeeper even at my best, but it’s like the children go out of their way to leave things lying around. There is Lego all over the living room because Jericho and Soren’s room is “too messy to play in” so they bring it all in here. Nicholai has come home from football and left his bloody kitbag on the kitchen table, so that’s left mud and made the whole room smell like sweaty bog feet. There are socks and shoes from one end of the house to the other and then the children have the nerve to complain that there are no clean socks in the box. Oh gosh, I wonder why??? It’s like all I ever do is wash dishes and move laundry around and yet after the kids being home for the weekend the house looks like it belongs in a hoarders episode or something. Combine that with the “awwwwwwwww” noise I get anytime I ask someone to do something they don’t want to do, and the wordless screeches of rage from Jericho every time something doesn’t go the way he wants it to, Nicholai’s endless moaning and the dog barking out the window and I am sitting here on the brink of tears and clenching my jaw so hard I think I’m doing some permanent damage. I did channel my rage into knitting earlier, and make some good progress on Troy’s sock, so it’s not a total waste but it’s also not filling me with confidence for the future.

And yes, I know how childish it is to sit here moaning and whining and feeling sorry for myself…I’m probably worse than they are. Blah.

I don’t know why I’m in such a shitty mood. I mean, these complaints about the children are quite valid, but normally I would be able to summon up at least a skerrick of zen calm to deal with it. Today I just want to leave them to wallow in the mess while I go somewhere that can be clean and orderly and free from obnoxious offspring.

 

It’s later now, the children are all in bed, and I’m remembering all their good points and starting to like them again. While we were all sitting down at dinner I told them that tomorrow we were going to do a big clean up, to at least kick off the holidays with an orderly house. Nicholai and Emma never clean their rooms, so I want them to actually sort through the junk and clear off their desks, and pick up the floor so that I can get in there and vacuum. Jericho and Soren need to sort out their shelves so that constructed Lego has somewhere to go so they can use their table for building more/playing. I will probably go in there and make sure all the clothes are actually hung up instead of being lost in a pile of shoes on the floor, and pick up all the random socks and throw them in the wash, hoping that they will find a pair in the process. I know, we are so much fun.

I weighed myself the other day and I have lost nine kilograms, which is quite a good start. It also means that I’ve continued to lose weight since stopping the Light and Easy, which is something I was really worried about. I really feel like I’ve not been as disciplined as I should be though, and I want to improve on that.

I’ve basically cut out bread and I’m eating less pasta now than I was on Light and Easy and I think that, combined with the Metformin, is definitely helping to keep the weight loss going. I’m eating muesli (containing nuts/seeds/sweetened with fruit not sugar) with yoghurt and a scoop of chia seeds for breakfast, which I love. I’m still using the little kids’ bowls for breakfast (the little melamine ones, we had Batman and Bart Simpson, and I just bought myself a Frozen one when grocery shopping yesterday) which helps keep the portion size under control. For lunch I make a plate, which consists of little serves of salad/ nuts/ sultanas/ cut up apple/ dried apricots/ golden berries/ boiled egg/ carrot/ beans/wholegrain Vita Wheats etc – not all at once, basically using whatever is in the fridge and cupboard. Tea I eat whatever everyone is eating but I’m trying to keep that healthy, which will benefit everyone really. I am definitely enjoying food more now that I’m not on Light and Easy.

We have bought one of the recumbent exercise bikes too, since the free shipping made it a good deal. Well, we have ordered and paid for one, but they seem to be having a little difficulty delivering it to us. I’ve been tracking it and it was sent to Melbourne, to Seymour, then back to Melbourne again. So they basically drove it past my house – twice – without delivering it.

6 thoughts on “Sunday 26th June 2016

  1. I laughed allowed when you said you challenged your anger into knitting! I just had an image of you with crazy frizzy hair hunched over knitting like a mad woman!! Hahaha!! I mean that in a lovely endearingly way! That sounds like sure healthy food you are eating and completely realistic and easy to maintain!! Well done on 9 kilos!! That’s so impressive you should feel proud of yourself!! Hope the big clean up goes well tomorrow. I am making my kids have one on Thursday after their friends leave. Love Elle xo

  2. Blend berries, add chia seeds, wait a little and voila!! Sugarless berry jam. Eat within a few days or freeze for later. I love Chia too.

    Alyssa

Leave a Reply

