Tuesday 7th June 2016

Emma is becoming the invisible daughter. I am starting to understand why some people will text their children when they live in the same house – it may well be the only way to get their attention.

I had a dreadful start to the day today when the water cut out while I was in the shower. It was the absolute worst possible moment too. I’d put conditioner in and soaped everything up and scrubbed my face – so basically I was as covered in shower products as it is possible to be – and then the water just stopped! I just kind of stood there, staring at the showerhead as though expecting it miraculously start working again, until I started for freeze and realise that it was NOT going to give me any water. So I just had to get out and use my towel to clean off all the soap, and then spend the rest of the day with my hair glued together with conditioner. Lovely.

The rest of the day was okay though. I did some of my planning for Thursday, a fun one where I was photoshopping pictures of animals (black and white line drawings) together on a background to make a scene. I include an animal that doesn’t belong in the scene (like a whale in the pet scene, a dolphin in the jungle scene, a dog in the under the sea scene) and label everything with their Indonesian names. Then in the lesson the preps have to find and name the animal that doesn’t belong, and then as they colour in I go around and ask them about their favourite animal in the scene, which animal they are colouring in next, which is their least favourite animal etc etc, basically anything to get them to use the Indonesian words

After nearly ripping out my fingerless mitts in disgust yesterday, I am very glad I persevered today. Doing a two stitch cable with 2mm needles is pretty fiddly, and it’s the first time I’ve done travelling cables, so that’s been different. But it’s still cables, which I love, and I’m happy with how they are turning out. With a bit of luck I might have one finished to wear to hockey training with Emma tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

