Wednesday 11th May 2016

I had craft today, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as normal. I don’t know…it was just like, sorry my plebeian children aren’t geniuses like yours and sorry I’m such a negligent mother for not monitoring my high school child’s homework daily and not knowing every single teacher. Blah.

I know they didn’t mean to make me feel bad, but I guess I was just a bit cranky today. Generally speaking I think we’re doing okay – I don’t monitor Nicholai and Emma’s homework the way she does her daughter, but I don’t think I need to. They are both capable of organising their homework and getting it done, and they are both capable of dealing with the consequences if they don’t get it done. I do check the parent portal now and again and ask the kids to explain any assignments that haven’t been done, but mostly checking it just validates that they’re doing okay. If there was a problem with their work at school or if homework was being unfinished regularly then we’d change our approach, but I’d rather give them the opportunity to take ownership of their own learning and succeed on their own merits first.

Emma had a bit of a rough time at hockey tonight and came off the field in tears in the middle of training. She cried on my shoulder for a while and said that she was too tired and didn’t want to do it anymore. I don’t know what set her off, and she wasn’t able to offer any explanation. It’s so hard to know what to do! Of course I just want to tell her not to worry, that she doesn’t have to do it if she doesn’t want to, but although that would be the easy thing to do I don’t think it would be the right thing to do. I think Emma sometimes needs to be pushed a little, because she is stronger, braver and more capable than she thinks she is. So tonight I told her that I’d take her home early if she wanted me to, but that she had to go and do a little bit more training first. Still sniffing she eventually trudged back to her team, and I felt like a monster for bullying her into going back.

Even when we were driving home she said she didn’t know what had upset her. I think that it’s probably just that she’s finding the under 14 team a little overwhelming – they are much more serious and hardcore about training than the under 12 team she was in last year was. Like, her coach spent a while tonight correcting her technique, literally focussing on her wrist action and the angle she was swinging, which is a lot more technical than any coaching she’s had before. I also think she’s a little intimidated by the other girls in her team. They can’t be that much older than her, but they seem like they are. Since most of them played in the team last year with this same coach, they’re also pretty skilled. So I think all of that, combined with Emma having had to sit the Naplan test yesterday and today (and again tomorrow) and it being freezing cold was just a bit much for her.

Oh, I completely forgot Soren’s swimming lesson today! I usually pick him up from school and then drop him off at Steve and Jean’s front gate and watch him run up the driveway. Today I just absolutely blanked on doing this, and brought him home and didn’t even realise until Jean rang me up and asked me where he was that he was supposed to be going swimming!

Leave a Reply

