Wednesday 10th February 2016

The yarn came today! It’s thinner than I expected, but also softer. I suppose the last two blankets I crocheted were made out of recycled cotton and dishcloth cotton and so it makes sense that they would be thicker and coarser…this cotton feels quite luxurious in contrast. I’ve already started crocheting it – two hours of watching the Tudors and crocheting made me very happy.

Jericho and Soren had swimming and so I didn’t have to pick them up from school, which is why I could watch two episodes. Of course I forgot that – I’d packed up my crochet and put pants on and ended my phone call with Mum and was halfway out the door to get in the car and go and get them before it occurred to me that it was Wednesday and swimming day. It’s nice having them picked up; I always used to go and collect them since I’d have to get Emma anyway, but now that it’s just the two of them I drop the swimming bags off with Jean and Steve in the morning and then they go and collect the boys from school.

I went walking with Jean today. Since we’ve done the Warburton trail we’re just doing some shorter local walks for a while. It was certainly hot and unpleasantly sweaty today, but it was probably good for me.

Emma was happier today, although she cut her thumb open with a saw in Materials Tech and had to go to the sick bay so that wasn’t great! She’s still friends with the girl she met at the orientation day and sits with her during classes and hangs out with her at lunch time so I think she’s feeling pretty comfortably socially. She also did her maths homework without tears tonight, and answered every question so that’s a good improvement.

I took a photo of my yarn today, just because it looked so beautiful when it was arranged in the order I’m going to crochet it! But it made me think that I need to get back to taking photos again. Maybe not go back to doing a project 365, but perhaps doing something more like a ‘photo of the day’ so that if I miss a day here and there I won’t get all stressed. I really do love taking pictures and my skills completely deteriorate whenever I stop doing it for any length of time. I love looking back at the things I’ve photographed and I really love when I get a really good shot.

Second round of World’s Best Flag is available! https://theworldsbestflag.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Wednesday 10th February 2016

Leave a Reply

