Tuesday 24th November 2015

I felt better today, for a tiny bit. Just like a little moment of sun in an otherwise very endless grey, but at least it’s something.

Troy and I have started working on Christmas. Due to my general apathy and reluctance to leave the house for anything not strictly necessary this is being done mostly online. This does mean we have to pay postage on things, but it also means I can price check and compare, and I don’t get flustered and distracted into buying more than I mean to at the shops. So it will probably turn out financially even in the end. I don’t feel like it’s going to be a huge Christmas, but so far I think we’ve got something good (or ordered, or planned on something good) that the kids will each like. And I suppose over the next few weeks I’ll get the joy of packages being delivered, which is always nice.

The kids are all going well. Nicholai is going to Melbourne uni on Thursday for a maths workshop, which he will probably enjoy. He was one of only a few kids in his class who were asked, so that’s pretty good. Emma had a good time on camp last week and is busy just being Emma- spending a lot of time listening to her music and reading and sitting at her desk doing secret girl things. Jericho has been rebuilding his Lego town since I had the audacity to mess it up while I was sorting out all the bricks. Soren is finally taking to being a fully independent reader, which is awesome. He’s been reading the Zac Power books as well as the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books- he got upset the other day and when I went to check on him he was curled up in a corner of the couch with his book and his sad blanket and it was so cute.

Leave a Reply

