Saturday 31 October 2015

I’m writing this here at Licola after a LONG day. We left home before eight and stopped for petrol and to buy bread and sunscreen. Not that we needed sunscreen, since it rained practically all day, but at least we were prepared I guess.

The kids did some archery before lunch, and after lunch I cried for a bit and then had a nap for a couple of hours. Troy went with the little kids or they were with their cousins, but they all did some more archery and some canoeing. The kids really do enjoy it here, which is good. It’s better each year actually, as they get older and can be trusted to do more on their own and don’t need such direct supervision.

The best thing about the day was that I took these ginger based travel sickness pills and they worked, so I didn’t arrive here thinking I was going to die.

We bought Luna with us, and she’s been such a good dog. We take her for walks around the village, and she spends the rest of the time tied up outside on the porch. She sometimes whines a little when she gets left alone, but really she’s good. A lot easier to deal with than Adam and Susan’s dog, who also came along.

Soren cracked me up today. He was all snuggled up in my lap while we sat in my camping moon chair, when he said to me very seriously, “You’re the best mum I know…and I’ve seen a lot of mums.”

Leave a Reply

