Tuesday 13 October 2015

We’ve made the appointment for Pedro for tomorrow. Troy walked up to the vet today and spoke to them and made the arrangements. Weirdly it costs more for them to put the dog down if you want to be there than if you don’t. They’ll also take care of the body for us though and that’s good- it would have to be a mighty big hole for Pedro.

The hardest thing about the whole deal was telling the kids though. Oh my heart…so awful to have to tell them. They were just shattered. We’ve had Pedro since Nicholai was four months old so none of them have known life without him. They’ve just always had a big, dumb friendly dog around. Jericho and Soren particularly were devastated.

But for them, it’s probably their first real experience with loss. They’ve never had a pet die before, and not really had any people die on them either. I mean, there was Kevin, but only Nicholai was old enough to really remember that. So this is the first time the others have had to face the concept of death so closely.

I don’t know. I just can’t really come to grips with it. I’ve had the dog for over thirteen and a half years- apart from Nicholai I’ve had him longer than I’ve had my kids! It’s over a third of my life, and I’ve been through so much in the time I’ve had him…it’s so hard to imagine not having his beautiful, dopey self around.

052 334

5 thoughts on “Tuesday 13 October 2015

  1. Oh Rebecca, I am so sad for you, Troy and the kids. It will be so hard, he has been a huge part of your lives for so long! I’m sending you a big hugs and am here if you want to chat or cry. Love Elle xoxo

  2. Oh Rebecca, I cried a tear just reading this, I’m so, so sorry that it’s time for this. I still remember going for a walk up steels creek road with a puppy and a baby in a backpack. Pedro has been a wonderful family member. Lots of love to everyone.
    I’m so sorry.

  3. I feel so sad for you I know how hard this is going to be for everyone. I’m here if you need a shoulder to cry on. Love you Mum xx

Leave a Reply

