Tuesday 29 September 2015

This is the most boring school holiday ever. I don’t know, maybe it’s not having the car making me feel trapped at home, maybe it’s just me having a down time, but I feel like it’s all a complete blank. The kids have been okay at home, but I feel like I’m really short-changing them. Maybe I can try and think of something to do tomorrow.

The kids are not unhappy at home though. They play around with toys that they don’t really look at during the term, jump on the trampoline, read a lot, and then after lunch they spend their poker chips on playing on the computer and the Wii. They also like to watch each other play, which is something I think would be boring but isn’t boring for them at all. Nicholai spends a lot of time making maps and charts and graphs and reading his atlas and his fact books. Emma reads and listens to music, and has pulled out her little pet shops once or twice, which she hasn’t done for a long time. Jericho has the most difficulty finding things to occupy himself with, but he’s reading the Harry Potter books again which he loves. Soren spent ages today walking around with the little camera and taking photos, and he is also to happy spend time colouring in and drawing. He’s probably the most self-sufficient in terms of entertaining himself, which I’ve always thought was kind of interesting considering he’s the youngest and has always had others around.

Apart from hanging out with the kids I’ve done a bit of knitting, playing around on the computer, chatting online, just wandering and doing a bit of housework. The children watched a bit of MASH with me while I was knitting today. I have no idea why it appeals to them, but apart from Emma they all seem to love watching MASH. I’m currently suffering from a bad case of writer’s block and haven’t got anything I’m writing, which is unpleasant. With nothing to write I’m getting a lot of reading done I suppose. I don’t know, it’s all just very random and all over the place at the moment.

Leave a Reply

