Thursday 27 August 2015

Emma has been getting more teenagerish lately, spending a lot more time with her headphones on doing secret girl business type activities in her room. (I suspect this is mostly reading, writing, drawing and occasionally dancing). She’s still rather lovely and helpful and pleasant out of her room, and I’m happy for her to hang out on her own if that’s what she wants to do.

The only problem with this state of affairs is Jericho. He and Emma have been best buddies for ages, and have always played together a lot, and I think he’s struggling to get used to being without her more. It’s kind of sad actually, when he’s practically begging her to play with him and she’s just saying no as kindly as she can. She’s not being mean, it’s just that she’s getting more in to doing her own thing. And Jericho has never been the best at entertaining himself, so without Emma to do things with and have ideas he’s a bit lost. I think in time he’ll gravitate towards Soren instead, but it’s just in the mean time I’ve got one pretty anxious and upset boy.

I taught today, which was fine except for the rain that made running from classroom to classroom kind of suck. One of the classes I prepared didn’t really work properly because I downloaded a youtube clip and saved it on my usb, but the computer in that classroom wouldn’t read it properly. In the end I had to get up youtube and just watch it directly. Which sounds like it should be simpler, but it’s never fun having to try and find the right thing while the kids all shout at me about watching other things.

My knitting is more enjoyable now that I’m doing a sleeve. The cable pattern is fiddly but I don’t mind doing that, and it’s nice not to have lots of heavy knitting hanging off the needles like there was by the end of the back. I still wouldn’t say that it’s my favourite knitting that I’ve ever done, but it’s not too bad and the end result will be worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

