Sunday 28th June 2015

Nicholai kicked a goal today! I didn’t get to see it, but I am so happy for him. His team won by 90 points, so it was really all their way today. Nicholai was so pleased by it, it was great.

Troy told me that the ball was marked by another kid from the team on the edge of the goal square, and he kicked it across to Nicholai (who nearly fumbled it) who then got the goal. That’s just…I love his team. I was so completely and utterly and beautifully wrong about him playing football. I was so worried that he’d be picked on and left out of things but it hasn’t been like that at all. And then today that kid gave him the goal (apparently he’d already scored about nine) but once Nicholai kicked it all his team came in and gave him high fives and whacks on the back and all the parents were cheering.

The kids all went over to have a play at Steve and Jean’s this afternoon. Their cousins were there apparently, so they had fun. Troy and I stayed home and had a movie afternoon/evening. We watched Hercules (the version with The Rock, not Kellan) and ate frozen pizza for tea and then we watched Chappie, which we’re still watching. I did some knitting, and we both just kind of hung out. I’m going to miss him while I’m away at mum and dad’s place.

Jericho’s invented a game he’s called ColourBlind, where the hero has to keep all the grey monsters at bay with colours. Interesting choice for a child who is, in fact, colour blind.

Leave a Reply

