Friday 29 May 2015

Sometimes the most depressing thing about Jericho’s hyperactive, silly, eight year old boy phase is knowing that Soren will go through it too in two years.

I had a nice day today. Since our oven was fixed I baked a cake, which was actually somewhat of a failure. I made a candle, which was a much greater success. I washed a million dishes and did loads of laundry, which was about as exciting as you’d imagine it to be. I also watched some tv and worked on my knitting/crochet thing a bit.

The kids seemed happy when I picked them up from school. Emma had a sports day today. It was with a few other schools, there were a bunch of different sports and the children were put in groups and randomly assigned to four of them. Emma did kayaking, netball, hip hop dancing and hula hooping and said they were all really fun.

When I got to Soren’s classroom he was giggling like mad and then gave me a piece of paper and said, “This is my favourite poem, and I got it off Reading Eggs!” (Reading Eggs is the compute program they use for literacy). I read the poem and just about died.

Oh, see the happy moron;
He doesn’t give a damn.
I wish I were a moron;
Indeed, perhaps I am.

Beside that Soren had written This is my favourite poem because moron meens a stoopid person.

I have to admit, I just burst out laughing. The kids thought it was hilarious, and I was just astonished that it had been on Reading Eggs! I took it in to Hayley and said, “What are you teaching my child?!” and she read it and laughed like mad. She was also very surprised that it was on Reading Eggs. But really I didn’t care- the whole thing was just so funny and Soren thought he was so clever to find that poem. He cracks me up sometimes.

Nicholai has started a sports blog, and made a twitter account for it. So far he has five followers- is this the beginning of his media empire?

2 thoughts on “Friday 29 May 2015

  1. That is a funny poem and I can jut imagine how hilarious he thought it was! Can’t wait to see you tomorrow, love Elle xo

Leave a Reply

