Friday 2nd January 2015

Today was my Soren’s birthday, and the Scooby boy was six! He’s turning into a big kid…I really do love my baby little one. I love remembering his birth out in the sun, I love remembering six years of Soren hugs and kisses and beautiful smiles.

He had a good day today. I got up early with Troy to open his presents, only to see that Nicholai and Emma were still asleep. So we waited for them to wake up, then he opened his presents. He got some more ninja turtles and a Spiderman doona cover, all of which he was very happy with. Troy gave them breakfast while I had a shower, then he went off to shop with Great-nana and Soren played with his toys.

It was really hot today. I hung out two loads of washing this morning and brought it all in, dry and crispy, at lunchtime. We spent most of the day inside with the air conditioner on.

Mum and Dad came up in the afternoon, which was lovely. They gave Soren a Skylander starter kit for the Wii, which he was really impressed with. I think that’s going to be keeping him entertained for a while these holidays, and he’s already considering using his birthday money from great-Nana to buy extra things for it.

Soren chose pizza for his birthday tea, and Troy’s mum and dad came over to share that as well. So Soren had both his grandparents here for his birthday, which isn’t something that’s ever happened before. It was so lovely to see him all smiley and happy to be the centre of attention. I made him a chocolate cake with frosting and strawberries and he blew out his candles and cut it.

He’s just so gorgeous. He’s such a funny, cuddly, affectionate little guy…he’s bigger and smarter and so much more capable than he was, but he’s always going to be my baby.