Thursday, 5th January 2012

We’ve started spending the tax refund money, and it’s flooding out. We went to Officeworks and bought a new laptop on Tuesday, and then today we went to Furniture Galore and bought four mattresses and a tallboy chest of drawers. I have such anxiety about spending big chunks of money, even when the things have been planned for and the money is sitting in our account waiting to be used!

It all needed to be done though. With three of them at school this year we thought that a second computer would be helpful for homework (there’s not been that much homework that needs a computer, but when there was it was annoying to have two kids needing to take turns) and also make life a little easier when it comes to the stupid roster of computer/ Wii turns. This way one of them will be able to use the desktop computer and someone else will be able to use the laptop on the kitchen table or perhaps my desk.

The mattresses have been on the list of things to buy for ages. The kids are all sleeping on foam mattresses which worked fine when they were all little, but as they’re getting bigger I think it would be better if they had something a bit more supportive and comfortable. I’d originally thought that we’d be buying them one at a time as the kids grew, but with only about seven kilos between the lightest and the heaviest of them it just seemed like a good idea to just splash out and buy them all at the same time!

The new drawers will replace the set of drawers with the change table top that we’ve had since Nicholai was born. They’ve certainly done a good job, but there’s only so many times you can re-glue handles and fronts on to drawers. The new set is really big, so it will fit in all the clothes we need them to hold and then some.

It’s going to be delivered on Saturday, so I’m mentally working out the details of swapping the kids’ rooms around since we’ll already be in a mess. I’m thinking that we might do well to have Emma and Nicholai share for a while, andJerichoand Soren in together.

I was so tempted by a leather lounge suite with recliners and cupholders and built in storage spaces today though! It was so comfortable and I wanted it so badly- it was very hard to say no and walk away. There’s no point in buying a new couch now though. Ours is not that old and is still okay, and the way the kids insist on jumping and bouncing and headbanging or climbing on it (despite all my yelling and making them sit on the floor) is going to trash it sooner or later. I just have to cross my fingers that by the time they eventually break it they will be growing out of this jumping stage and we can risk getting something nicer.

But the cup holders! And the storage space that I could put my knitting in! And the recline feature! And the easy clean leather! WANT. SO. MUCH!

Nicholai has gone for a sleepover at Morgan’s house tonight. Thank goodness. A break from each other might do us some good, and I think those boys are pretty good about getting Nicholai outside and burning off some physical energy (last time I was there the mother was telling me about the boys jumping out of a window onto the trampoline- they’re that kind of boys) so that should be good for him.

I tried taking photos of the kids’ eyes last night. I thought we could have a fun guessing game of whose eyes belong to whom. It didn’t work out so well though- my hands were not steady enough and the kids kept moving and the camera kept focusing on Soren’s eyelashes instead of his eyes! Emma’s worked out okay though.